Japan – Location, size, and extent

Located off the jap fringe of the Asian continent, the Japanese archipelago is bounded on the N by the Sea of Okhotsk, on the E and S by the Pacific Ocean, on the SW by the East China Sea, and on the W by the Sea of Japan / East Sea. The overall space of Japan is 377,835 sq km (145,883 sq mi). Comparatively, the realm occupied by Japan is barely smaller than the state of California. It extends 3,008 km (1,869 mi) NE – SW and 1,645 km (1,022 mi) SE – NW and has a complete shoreline of 29,751 km (18,486 mi).

The 5 districts are Honshu, Hokkaido, Kyushu, Shikoku, and Okinawa. Every of the 5 districts consists of a major island of the identical title and tons of of surrounding islands.

See more: Length of japan in miles

Of the hundreds of lesser islands, 4 are of significance: Tsushima, within the straits between Korea and Japan; Amami Oshima, of the northern Ryukyu Islands on the southern finish of the Japanese archipelago; Sado Island within the Sea of Japan / East Sea off central Honshu; and Awaji Island, mendacity between Shikoku and Honshu. Two teams of islands returned to Japan by america in 1968 are positioned some 1,300 km (800 mi) due east of the Ryukyus: the Ogasawara (Bonin) Islands, about 885 km (550 mi) south of Tokyo, and the Kazan (Volcano) Islands, straight south of the Ogasawara group.

Japan’s principal island is Honshu, on that are positioned the capital metropolis of Tokyo, the principal cities and plains, and the key industrial areas. This island is split into 5 areas: Tohoku, from north of Kanto to Tsugaru Strait; Kanto, embracing seven prefectures within the Tokyo-Yokohama area; the Chubu, or central, area, from west of Tokyo to the Nagoya space; Kinki, together with the vital cities of Kyoto, Osaka, Kobe, and Nara; and Chugoku, a slim peninsula thrusting westward from Kinki between the Sea of Japan / East Sea and the Inland Sea, which lies between southern Honshu and the island of Shikoku.

See also  Charming, Calm, and Connected

The Japanese authorities maintains that the Habomai island group and Shikotan, mendacity simply off Hokkaido and constituting fringe areas of the Kurils, belong to Japan and must be returned to Japanese administration. These islands and the Kuril Islands are at present occupied by Russia, whose claims should not formally acknowledged by Japan.

Japan’s capital metropolis, Tokyo, is positioned on the east coast of the island of Honshu.

Similar Articles

Most Popular